Thoughts on Haiku

Happy Easter etc., the Lent season is over. I got a lot out of the things I did this year to try to connect with something bigger than my usual life. One thing that really blew me away was the commitment I made to write one Lent related Haiku a day. I did this to ensure that I reflect each day about some spiritual thought. With it being Haiku, I wasn’t biting off something huge and overwhelming. What I didn’t expect was that I would have just about one new follower for each Haiku I wrote during Lent. Most of the people officially following my blog now are people I don’t know, and this has been a surprising, exciting, and humbling revelation for me. So, if you are one of those people, I really appreciate that you are interested in what I’m saying. I’m probably not as active as most bloggers with comments etc., but it does mean a lot to me that someone thought enough of what I wrote to click that follow button.

This exercise has really been good for me as a writer and just as a person, so I think that I will try to scratch out some thoughts each day that may become a real poem at some point down the road. I’m getting ready to enter an MFA program, and that kind of regular writing will be a must to be serious about what I’m going to do in the program. I will be away from the blog for a little over a week. I’m going to spend some time visiting friends and backpacking. I will likely have a lot of blabbing to do about my adventures and how being out in nature for days is the best kind of medicine, so prepare yourself for those posts. But, after that, if you dug hearing me write, I will kick that back up as well.

There’s not much to this post–I just felt the need to acknowledge the interest that has come up for this blog, specifically the haiku. It was a great experience stringing together 40 straight days of reflection, and I’m glad that so many people shared that with me. I’d love to hear if you had one in particular that was your favorite or if you have any suggestions for what you like to see on this blog. This is mostly just a place where I can get out my thoughts, and work out my writing muscles, but I’m incredibly humbled by the fact that people want to read that. Thanks everyone who’s stayed interested. I’ll try to do more.

Come on, say something.

